Make Them Visible

Each morning when I walk to work in the Back Bay, I am surrounded by the juxtaposition of homeless people sitting by Gucci, Burberry and Kate Spade. While there are a few “regulars”, the man who repeats “spare quartah please” or the small woman who dances around singing, “do you have a dollar?” (with her voice getting higher and higher each time), I never have taken the time to look these people in the eyes. In fact, I try and look the other way every time I see a homeless person for the fear of the immense guilt that overcomes my body each time I see someone wrapped in an old blanket on a cold New England day. Yes, I am an awful person because of this, but unfortunately I am not the only one.

New York Rescue Mission recognized that when the general public sees homeless people, they tend…

View original post 103 more words

About tjmcfee

Freelance writer. Activist on homeless issues. 48 years old. I write about subjects that need to be examined closely and thoughtfully. The idea for Brain Sections came from reading a book about abandoned asylums. I wanted to set a suspense story in that setting. The inclusion of crazed scientists turning homeless people into zombies is what makes the story unique. View all posts by tjmcfee

Leave a Reply

