Home Sweet Home

I used to see a couple that rented a storage unit where I did; they took turns sleeping in the unit over night and (the one who spent the night outside) would come by in the morning to unlock the door and let the other one out. Never tried this, but it happens. — T.J.

desert.street.rat

When I say I live out of a storage unit some of my friends misinterpret me as living in a storage unit.  That’s not the case. I visit my unit once or twice a day and exchange the dirty clothes and things I won’t use that day for things I will and a new change of clothes.

I thought someone might be interested in what my unit looks like. It’s a 5x10ft space with a lot of totes full of books and belongings I wasn’t quite ready to let go of, and a few duffel-bags and suitcases for clothing. There’s no light inside. I plan to get an LED lantern with my next paycheck.1018154906

In the top left corner you’ll notice one of my black work shirts hanging from an adjustable shower rod. My employer requires me to have well pressed shirts with creases ironed in. Since the whole purpose…

View original post 98 more words

About tjmcfee

Freelance writer. Activist on homeless issues. 48 years old. I write about subjects that need to be examined closely and thoughtfully. The idea for Brain Sections came from reading a book about abandoned asylums. I wanted to set a suspense story in that setting. The inclusion of crazed scientists turning homeless people into zombies is what makes the story unique. View all posts by tjmcfee

Leave a Reply

