Well Done, Good and Faithful Homeless Man

Not all homeless people are there because of bad moral character. Some times the world just tries to starve the good out of someone. –T.J.

Wild Goose Writings

There I was, sitting on the coffee shop patio at the corner of Lonsdale and 29th, engaged in a business meeting.

As we were talking, I was trying to stay focused on the topic at hand, but my ears picked up the familiar sound of shopping cart on sidewalk.  I glanced to see a dusty, scruffy man pushing his cart full of empty bottles and cans.

What I saw next took my breath away.

The man manoeuvred his full cart to the corner, pressed the button, and waited.  When the walking signal flashed, he proceeded to cross.  I was so intent on him I didn’t notice that on the other side a frail, old lady with a walker was also waiting to cross. They met right where the sidewalk sloped to the road.

The man navigated his cumbersome cart around the lady-obstacle who had by now lost her chance to make it…

View original post 233 more words

About tjmcfee

Freelance writer. Activist on homeless issues. 48 years old. I write about subjects that need to be examined closely and thoughtfully. The idea for Brain Sections came from reading a book about abandoned asylums. I wanted to set a suspense story in that setting. The inclusion of crazed scientists turning homeless people into zombies is what makes the story unique. View all posts by tjmcfee

Leave a Reply

