Frienemies?

One interesting thing about getting an apartment after you have been homeless is that some of your homeless friends seem to be less than thrilled to see you get off the streets.
I have been going through this experience for the last few months. Some of my still-homeless friends have now taken up the challenge to get their own housing and stand up for their rights, take initiative, etc. Others, (one I hardly know, in particular) have not-so-subtlety hinted that I should take them in as a house mate. Another has been calling me at odd hours with desperate pleas for help and assistance.
As much as I like helping people, I also don’t like attempts to get me back on the streets by sabotaging my living situation. If someone wants to use me as an example, fine. If I can do it, you can too. But don’t try to get me back on the streets… because you miss your buddy.

About tjmcfee

Freelance writer. Activist on homeless issues. 48 years old. I write about subjects that need to be examined closely and thoughtfully. The idea for Brain Sections came from reading a book about abandoned asylums. I wanted to set a suspense story in that setting. The inclusion of crazed scientists turning homeless people into zombies is what makes the story unique. View all posts by tjmcfee

Leave a Reply

